LPL Banner
 
   

Friends of the Library

  Friends of the Laredo Public Library

City Seal

Laredo Community Links

 

 

AARP

American Association of Retired Persons

Vote Texas VOTEXAS
Electronic Resources
 

Ancestry Library (in library use only)
A comprehensive genealogy and local history online resource, Ancestry Plus covers 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases. It includes the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, and Passenger and Immigration Lists Index. Access is available at designated terminals only.

Books in Print (in library use only)
Find what you’re looking for quickly and easily, using Bowker’s database of 5 million book, audio book, and video titles.  You can browse the winners and nominees of over 400 book industry awards, titles by your favorite author, or fiction titles in a favorite series or featuring a favorite character.   Personalized services include BIP Alert, a tool that allows you to save your search criteria and receive alerts via e-mail when new titles are released that match your saved search! You can also save your results in a personalized reading list which can then be edited, e-mailed, or printed.

Chapter A Day (remote access available)
Chapter-A-Day clubs consist of daily emails containing a 5-minute sample from books.  By the end of the week, you will receive 2-3 chapters, enough to decide if you want to purchase the book or check it out from Laredo Public Library.  You may sign up for more than one of the free clubs, and there is a link to obtain replacement emails, in case you accidentally delete one.  The clubs include:  Fiction, Nonfiction, Teen, Business, Romance, Good News and Audio.

CollegeSource Online (remote access available)
College Source Online is a virtual library covering 37,519 college catalogs and over 31,500,000 course descriptions. Full catalogs with cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools are available. It also provides links to test preparation sites, educational and library professional associations, career resources, financial aid resources, and links to state departments of education.

Facts on File/Science Online (remote access available)
Facts On File is one of America’s leading publishers of print and online reference materials for the school and library market. Known to librarians worldwide as "the Information Publisher," Facts On File has been publishing quality reference titles since 1941. Our list has grown to more than 1,300 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-6), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult.

Foundation Directory Online (in library use only)
Allows you to search for grant monies by grantmaker name, type of grantmaker, geographic focus, field of interest and types of support.  Includes “Search Tutorial” to help you get started.

GaleNet
GaleNet comprises a variety of literary databases covering author biographies, genres, critical reviews of individual works, and associated materials.  Included are Dictionary of Literary Biography, Comtemporary Authors, Scribner’s Writers Series, Twayne Authors Series, and more. Thousands of articles and essays are included.

Also part of GaleNet is the Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module for access to medical reference materials including nearly 400 medical journals and articles from 2,200 general interest journals, plus a wealth of pamphlets and other sources.

Generations Online (remote access available)
Using familiar images and large type instructions, the Generations Online guides elders who have no computer experience through four basic Internet functions: simplified email, Memories: Generation to generation, posted questions and answers in which supervised fourth grade children ask seniors about their memories of the past in four categories; a multi-lingual search in 36 languages, through a partnership with Yahoo!; and links to sites of interest to seniors, including social security and Medicare, veterans affairs, newspapers around the world, and health portals.

Home Improvement Reference Center (remote access available)
Home Improvement Reference Center is a full text database focus on home improvement and home repair. Thousands of repairs will be available in the areas of outdoor projects, electrical projects, remodeling projects, plumbing projects, wood projects, decorating projects and maintenance. It provides full text articles with instructions, tips, and suggestions for a variety of home improvement projects

Latin American Newspapers (remote access available)
Latin American Newspapers is part of the ProQuest Newsstand resource.  It contains a selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.  Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly and covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.  Editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also indexed.

LearnATest.com (remote access available)
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Library of Texas
The Library of Texas is a service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that allows users of public, academic, and clinical medicine libraries to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge, including the catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases.  Information resources are grouped together by subject and region and many include full text information.

MedlinePlus (remote access available)
MedlinePlus is a comprehensive source of information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

Mitchell's Auto Repair (in library use only)
Provides step-by-step instructions for repairing both domestic and import car and truck models. Features part figures and wiring diagrams for both current and vintage models.    Special features include the Estimator for parts and labor costs, a Maintenance Service Log, as well as Technical Service and Recall Bulletins.

Morning Star (remote access available)
Your one-stop shop for investment learning. Whether you're looking for tips for choosing funds for stocks, or the definition of an investment term, you'll find it all here.

Multimedia Archive (remote access available)
Contains almost half a million of the Associated Press current and historical images of the last 150 years.

Nove List Online (remote access available)
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.

Reference USA (remote access available)
The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses; 210 million U.S. residents; 855,000 U.S. health care providers. It updates every 2-3 months. This information is available to you, in your home or office as well as in the library itself. All you need is a Laredo Public Library card and the password!

Small Engine Repair (remote access available)
Browse by category including all terrain vehicles, outdoor power equipment, generators and other small engines, motorcycles, water craft, snowmobiles and tractors.  Instructions and diagrams can be retrieved from an alphabetical list of service repair manuals unique to a particular category.

TexShare Databases (remote access available/id&password)
The TSEL is a program of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.  This resource contains links to TexShare databases with many areas of interest including: general information and periodicals, homework and education, history and genealogy, health and medical, business resources, and books and literature.  The TSEL contains over 70 online resources selected exclusively for the Laredo Public Library, including resources in Spanish.

Typing Tutor (remote access available)
Typing tutor is the leading FREE Typing Tutor on the Internet to help you master the skills of touch typing. There is a FREE Online typing test, online lessons and typing tutorial.

 

Last Updated: June 17, 2008

1120 E. Calton Rd.
Laredo, TX 78041
Phone (956) 795-2400
Fax (956) 795-2403